Thinking about ‘Narrative’

Wikipedia suggest we can define a  narrative as a:

‘story or any report of connected events, actual or imaginary, presented in a sequence of written or spoken words, or still or moving images.’

It is a term in every day use but I need to think more carefully about it application to the still image or to a set of still images

The picture below that I am using as the banner image for this blog does I think contain information that can be interpreted in a variety of ways. I made the image some years ago and have often pondered on the real story behind the image. The reason i raise this is that whilst the photographer has some control, the view also makes choices about what an image or set of images might be saying. I hope that through the study of this course I will learn more about how I can control how the viewer receives  and interprets the images I make. That ability seems to be at the centre of the notion of personal voice. I can see and interpret in the work of others but at this stage it remains elusive to me!

16157712041_4aa5701fa9_b

The reunion, Brighton 2001, John Adrian Orr

Leave a Reply

